Who is Favored to Win the 2022 NFL MVP?

Who is Favored to Win the 2022 NFL MVP?

While it was only last month that the Los Angeles Rams defeated the Cincinnati Bengals 23-20 in Super Bowl LVI, many fans are already looking ahead to the 2022 NFL season.  Indeed, there will be plenty of movement in the offseason as teams will look to use free agency and the NFL Draft to rebuild their teams in the hope of finding the next NFL MVP.

Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers was named the NFL’s MVP once again this season, as he won the award for the second year in a row after another stellar year for the Wisconsin franchise.

However, many will now be looking ahead to see who could be the MVP next season, and with sports bettors able to get ready for the new season with these football betting promo code offers, they will be looking at who the potential candidates for next year’s award could be.

What are some stats behind the MVP winner?

Those that like to use statistics to try and predict what might happen in the future may be interested to learn, although perhaps not that surprised, that the award typically goes to a quarterback.

Naturally, with the position being the engine and driving force of an organization, many will be looking at this skill position to bring home the award. Historically, the quarterback position has accounted for 45 MVP awards, including every single season since the 2012 season that saw running back Adrian Peterson win it after his performances for the Minnesota Vikings.

Past winners

Let’s look at the recent winners:

  • 2021 – QB Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers)
  • 2020 – QB Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers)
  • 2019 – QB Lamar Jackson (Baltimore Ravens)
  • 2018 – QB Patrick Mahomes (Kansas City Chiefs)
  • 2017 – QB Tom Brady (New England Patriots
  • 2016 – QB Matt Ryan (Atlanta Falcons)
  • 2015 – QB Cam Newton (Carolina Panthers)
  • 2014 – QB Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers)
  • 2013 – QB Peyton Manning (Denver Broncos)
  • 2012 – RB Adrian Peterson (Minnesota Vikings)
  • 2011 – QB Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers)

Who is the favorite to win the NFL MVP this season?

Despite Rodgers uncertain future with the Green Bay Packers, there will be many that feel he will be a serious contender for the award once again.  He has won the award four times in his career already and there will not be many who would bet against him from winning it a fifth time.

Those that are seeking an alternative will look at the quarterback position, with names such as Patrick Mahomes (Kansas City Chiefs), Josh Allen (Buffalo Bills), or Joe Burrow (Cincinnati Bengals) at the top of the list.

Indeed, the three QBs had solid respective years leading their franchises, with each of them getting into the postseason last year. Mahomes managed to defeat Allen’s Bills in overtime in the AFC Divisional Round Game, before being eliminated by Burrows’ Bengals in the AFC Championship Game.

Of course, Burrow had an excellent second year in the NFL as he led his franchise to the Super Bowl after being one of the worst teams in the league prior to his arrival. It was a feat that many would not have expected given the QB had been forced to end his debut season early because of a serious knee injury.