NFL 2021 Season Predictions

Image: Creative Commons, Jonathan Moreau

NFL 2021 Season Predictions

The NFL preseason is over, and the regular season is right around the corner. The defending champion Tampa Bay Buccaneers will host the Dallas Cowboys on Thursday, September 9 to begin the season. Before we begin the action, here’s our division winner breakdown as well as our award predictions. Of course, no preseason prognostication would be complete without choosing the new NFL champion.

AFC Predictions 

AFC South

The Tennessee Titans are a legitimate Super Bowl contender, and their offense is one of the toughest to take down with quarterback Ryan Tannehill, running back Derrick Henry, and receiver A.J. Brown. This team scored the fourth most points in the NFL last year and added wide receiver Julio Jones this year. In a weak division, expect the Titans to dominate.

AFC North

The Baltimore Ravens looked fantastic in the preseason, and they ended the 2020 regular season on a very high note. Lamar Jackson was given more weapons at the receiver position and this defense should shine. Losing running back J.K. Dobbins for the season won’t help but it will be next man up in a very tough division.

AFC East

I am all in on the Buffalo Bills repeating as AFC East Champs. The Bills rewarded quarterback Josh Allen, who finished second in MVP voting, with a massive offseason extension. They added a few weapons for him on offense, including receiver Emmanuel Sanders, as this team looks to get back to the AFC Championship game.

AFC West

Come on…the Kansas City Chiefs will have a lock on this division for years to come. After a disappointing Super Bowl loss, the Chiefs improved immensely on the offensive line and will have the same production from quarterback Patrick Mahomes, receiver Tyrek Hill, and tight end Travis Kelce to make another Super Bowl run.

NFC Predictions 

NFC South

No Drew Brees for New Orleans means fewer problems for Tampa Bay. The Bucs should run away with the division as they enter year two with Tom Brady under center and his bevy of receivers. They return every single starter from the Super Bowl team and should compete as the best team in the NFL the whole season.

NFC North

Aaron Rodgers isn’t happy and that could be scary for all his opponents. He is coming off an MVP season and doesn’t face a lot of competition in a very weak division. With Aaron Jones at running back and Davante Adams at receiver, the Green Bay Packers have a lot of offensive weapons. Expect big things from the Pack in what is likely their last season with the MVP quarterback.

NFC East

Let’s hope this division is a bit more competitive than last year. The team that improved the most this offseason was Washington.  While Ryan Fitzpatrick isn’t always consistent, he is a playmaker and that’s what this team lacked last season. The team also has one of the best defensive lines in all of football led by defensive end Chase Young.

NFC West

The toughest division in the NFL is always fun to watch.  This year I am placing my trust in the Los Angeles Rams with new quarterback Matthew Stafford and offensive guru head coach Sean McVay to create one of the scariest offenses in the NFL. This defense is elite, and it will pave the way to a deep playoff run.

Super Bowl Prediction

It isn’t easy to do, but if there is a guy I trust to repeat as a Super Bowl Champion, it is Tom Brady. I have the Bucs taking down the Bills in the Super Bowl to give Brady another ring and Tampa its third Super Bowl.

MVP Award

Patrick Mahomes – He will win a ton of these in his career and came close to doing it again last year.

Rookie of the Year

Mac Jones – He has a shot at dethroning Cam Newton under center and can succeed immediately in New England.

Defensive Player of the Year

T.J. Watt- The Watt brothers have dominated offenses and now its T.J.’s time to steal the show.

Coach of the Year

Mike Vrabel – Few coaches can motivate their guys like Mike Vrabel can and I am excited to see how he risks it all to win in Tennessee

Comeback Player of the Year

Dak Prescott- Just taking the field qualifies him for this award after the brutal injury he suffered last season.