Alliance Coming To Atlanta


Alliance Coming To Atlanta

Mike Vick Named Offensive Coordinator

Look out Atlanta, the Alliance is coming to your town. The Alliance of American Football (AAF) made it official on Wednesday, April 25, announcing Atlanta as the second city to host a team in the new spring football league launching next year. The announcement comes just two weeks after choosing Orlando as the league’s first choice to host a team, revealing, thus far, a preference for cities below the Mason Dixon Line.

During a press conference at Georgia State Stadium, the home field of the Georgia State University Panthers football program, league officials announced two members of the team’s coaching staff. Brad Childress, a former head coach of the Minnesota Vikings and most recently on the coaching staff of the Kansas City Chiefs, was announced as head coach. Michael Vick, former NFL quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons and Philadelphia Eagles among others, was named Offensive Coordinator. Following his retirement, Vick spent the 2017 preseason alongside Childress on the Kansas City Chiefs coaching staff.

Vick’s choice as OC is not without some controversy, however. In 2007, Vick pled guilty to federal charges due to his role in a dogfighting ring based out of property he owned in Virginia, serving 18 months in prison.

“This is an amazing opportunity,” said Vick during the press conference. “I’ve always had a passion for teaching, coaching. I’ve been coached by some of the best. I’m looking forward to paying it forward to a group of guys that get a second opportunity at their careers.”

Alliance Atlanta will play their home games at the 24000-seat open-air Georgia State Stadium, not the new Mercedes Benz Stadium, the home of the Atlanta Falcons and Atlanta United Football Club.

The AAF will consist of eight teams of 50 players each, competing in a 10-game regular season. The top four teams will advance to the league playoffs. The inaugural AAF season is scheduled to begin on February 9, 2019, one week following the NFL Super Bowl.