2023 College Baseball World Series

Image: cwsomaha.com

2023 College Baseball World Series

The 2023 College Baseball World Series bracket is set and it’s going to be a fun time. What a wild postseason it’s already been, capped off by an unbelievable ending between Stanford and Texas where the UT center and right fielders lost a pop fly in the lights which allowed the Cardinal to walk off with the win and advance to Omaha. If that is any indication of future things to come, we are in for a very exciting College World Series finish. It’s packed with some different teams this season and that’s a great thing for the sport.

Before we jump into the different brackets and decide who we think will win, here is how the College World Series works: It features eight teams split into two separate brackets. It’s a double-elimination format, which will run all the way up until the finals. The bracket one winner will then face the bracket two winner with a clean slate. A three-game series will then determine the national champion.

Bracket 1

Bracket 1 has three powerhouse programs in Florida, Virginia and TCU. Florida last won in 2017 while TCU is back on this stage for the first time under new head coach Kirk Saarloos who is in just his second season with the team after replacing Jim Schlossnagle who bolted for a much bigger contract at Texas A&M. Virginia won the World Series in 2015 and they played in the final in 2014.

After that, we have Oral Roberts. You might recognize the team from March Madness as their basketball team has excelled over the past few years, but now they are making a grand entrance on the baseball stage. This is the first time that they have been in the College World Series since 1978.

I am backing TCU in this bracket. They have an easier path with Oral Roberts in round one and they have the experience with some of these guys. They are a dynamic team that does a lot of good things and very few bad things.

Bracket 2

How about this powerhouse bracket with LSU, Tennessee, Stanford, and Wake Forest. Wake Forest is making their first appearance in the College World Series since 1955. This comes after they won the ACC in the regular season. Of course, it’s no real surprise that LSU is back on the stage. They have won six championships since 1991, but they haven’t won since 2009. The Tigers are making their third appearance since 2015.

Stanford has had a consistent presence in the world series over the last three years but they’re looking for their first win since back-to-back championships in 1987 and 1988. They were runner-up in 2003. After a good season, they’ll be a competitive pick by many.

Tennessee rounds out the list in Bracket 2. They haven’t played in the championship since their 1951 loss. They finished seventh in 2021. Coach Tony Vitello brings a fun energy to their squad.


Wake Forest is my pick here, marking the first time a winner will come from outside the SEC since Oregon State won in 2018. The Demon Deacons have been so hot all season long and have dominated their way to the top ranking in the country.